PDA

View Full Version : Server Installation Question



videoshelf
07-12-2005, 01:56 PM
I just installed SR v4 on a trial basis but I have one question. It also applies to v3. We've centered our office around a server. Can v4 Server be installed by itself without the client interface? The server it will be installed on does not need that feature. It just needs to be accessible to the users in our office.

Sincerely,

Rob

SYSOPS
07-12-2005, 02:02 PM
You would use the same installer and during the configuration process on the server you would tell the install this that is the "server" portion of the installation.

Once you have it initially configured, you can close ShipRush and not launch it again on the server. Everything else can be done from any workstation.

Same is true for v3 UPS.

SYSOPS

videoshelf
07-12-2005, 02:21 PM
If the program is installed using that method, the client app is still installed. Is there a way to install the server app and not the client app?

Sincerely,

Rob

SYSOPS
07-12-2005, 02:28 PM
No.

There isn't an option to just install the server portion. If you don't want anyone to launch the client application, remove it from the programs list manually. At some time in the future you may need to launch it from the server though, so do not remove the actual exe files.

SYSOPS