PDA

View Full Version : ShipRush & SQL



rlobianco
05-24-2004, 11:01 AM
Has anyone gotten any farther with getting SQL & ShipRush running together since the December postings by Rob? We are working on getting it going and have -- to an extent. We have been able to get ShipRush to a point where it talks with a MSSQL2000 server, writes and reads tracking from the SQL db... Basically everything that would make it seem as if the SQL setup is running correctly.

The problem occurs when you try and close out. ShipRush sits there for a while and then comes back with an error about how the ShipRush server could not be contacted. It almost seems as if when ShipRush goes to connect to the database, the db location is hard coded into the program so that it bypasses checking to see where it should connect to and just goes to the "shiprush server located at" instead of through the ADO connection.

I could be completely off base here in that thinking but we've tried every other combination. This close out error only occurs if you are connecting to the SQL server and not the ShipRush server. Thoughts?

Kind Regards,
Ralph LoBianco
Fleeman, Anderson & Bird Corp
http://www.fab-corp.com
Tel:727-853-1234
Fax:727-841-7110
Email:ralph@fab-corp.com

SYSOPR
05-24-2004, 02:10 PM
Can you clarify a couple of points?

a) It sounds like you want ShipRush to work with your own SQL Server, not with the MSDE that comes with ShipRush, correct?

b) What steps/docs did you use to do this?

Normally this kind of migration is done with the help of a Z-Firm tech support engineer. If you did it on your own, there could well be a piece missing.

Do note that this migration is deliberately undocumented. Z-Firm policy is that this migration can only be done with a competent SQL admin on site and with a level III tech incident with Z-Firm.

Thanks, and we will get you covered!

rlobianco
05-24-2004, 03:12 PM
To get it all running, it was pretty much trial and error so it's very possible that we're missing a step. We would be more than happy to work on the issue with a Level III tech -- just let us know what we need to do to get this to happen.

Yes, we want to get this running with a separate SQL server. MS SQL 2k SP3 to be specific. We do not want to use the MSDE if at all possible. The MSDE will remain installed and running as setup through the installation process on the primary computer however unless there is a need to uninstall it.

To get ShipRush working with MSSQL, we exported the database from ShipRush through the backup function and then imported it into MSSQL as a new table. This seemed to be needed since the installer is the only one that creates tables that are missing (as noted in previous posts). We set the permissions on the database to allow for the proper admin although we ended up using the built-in sa account as opposed to a separate account.

On the client side we setup an ADO connection to the database. The settings were all straight forward -- server name (the name of the server running MSSQL), log in with the sa account and appropriate password, and using the proper database on the server. Then testing the connection to make sure that it was "ok" and that the connection to the database would not be a problem. No advanced or other settings were changed.

Next to get the settings to take and make the change to the external MSSQL database, we exited and relauched the program.

Everything runs correctly as far as the shipping side of it goes. You can create and view shipments, server messages, etc. However, when the client configured to use the external db goes to perform end of day, after about a 30 second delay the following error message appears:

--begin paste--
Unable to process "End of day" request. ShipRush server is not active. Please start ShipRush server and try again.
--end paste--

In the task list however, ShipRushServer.exe is running as a system process, along with ShipRush3.exe & sqlservr.exe. Services MSSQL$SHIPRUSH3 & Z-Firm ShipRush v3 are both running (presumably corresponding to the appropriate exe in the task list).

Thoughts? We have verified that it's not an installation issue when using the MSDE for the database as we are able to close out without problems.

Kind Regards,
Ralph LoBianco
Fleeman, Anderson & Bird Corp
http://www.fab-corp.com
Tel:727-853-1234
Fax:727-841-7110
Email:ralph@fab-corp.com

SYSOPR
05-25-2004, 06:55 AM
Greetings!

The next step here is to call in to Z-Firm tech support and request a Level III paid support incident. The fee is $195. A tech will remote in and take care of the configuration for you.

While there are several sites running in this way, we do not support this configuration via the newsgroups. Future support related to the underlying configuration will be on a paid basis by phone.