PDA

View Full Version : New install of ShipRush 7.5



jrodencal
04-01-2010, 11:23 AM
I recently installed ShipRush 7.5 on a new XP PC. The ShipRush database is on a shared network location, and I have 2 PC's accessing it.

On this new XP PC after a while I get the following errors:

Out of System Resources
Attempt to access invalid address

I can click OK on the message but they keep coming back, the only way around is to exit ShipRush and then restart it.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Joel

SYSOPS
04-01-2010, 11:31 AM
Are both installations using the same version\build of ShipRush?

The error would indicate a memory error on the PC, and after awhile ShipRush is trying to access the memory and the address is no longer valid.

SYSOPS

jrodencal
04-01-2010, 11:33 AM
Yes they are both on the same version.

So if it is a memory error on the PC how do I validate that?

SYSOPS
04-01-2010, 11:44 AM
No easy way to validate short of swapping the memory.

How much memory is on that PC?

SYSOPS

jrodencal
04-08-2010, 05:58 AM
So after some more looking into the issue, it appears what is happening is that after I launch ShipRush 7.5 and I look at the task manager, I notice that when I look at Running Processes it shows the ShipRush.exe sitting there eating up memory, the memory usage keeps increasing and the CPU sits arounr 10% and when the memory finally runs out is when I get the error mentioned above.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Joel

SYSOPS
04-08-2010, 06:03 AM
Are you using a bar code scanner with ShipRush?

SYSOPS

jrodencal
04-08-2010, 06:45 AM
Yes I am

SYSOPS
04-08-2010, 06:52 AM
Was reported yesterday to development as a bug. Case 22621.

Thank you for the update that this is scanner related.

SYSOPS

jrodencal
04-08-2010, 06:55 AM
So I have updated my server database to 7.5, If I want to go back to version 6.2 (which is what I was on prior to 7.5) do I have store that folder that the database is in, or what do I have to do to roll back now.

SYSOPS
04-08-2010, 06:56 AM
You would have to start from scratch. You cannot rollback the database to a prior version.

Uninstall via add\remove programs
Rename the Z-Firm LLC folder under documents and settings\all users\documents\ or users\public\documents
Reboot

Install v6.2

SYSOPS

jrodencal
04-08-2010, 06:58 AM
ok thanks,

So by doing this do I lose any history or anything like that, like being able to view shipments from prior days, or anything else.

SYSOPS
04-08-2010, 07:04 AM
Doing a rollback to v6.2 will lose all prior data in ShipRush. You will be starting from a new database.

SYSOPS

jrodencal
04-08-2010, 07:07 AM
So if I turn off the use of the scanners for now until you get the bug addressed then I should be ok, 7.5 should work and I wouldn't lose anydata.

Is that a correct statement.

SYSOPS
04-08-2010, 07:09 AM
That would be correct. The scanner is the cause if the issue. Turning that off in the settings will stop the issue from happening.

SYSOPS

jrodencal
04-08-2010, 07:11 AM
Appreciate your help, I will talk with the client to see what they want to do.

Is it possible that you can notify me some how on when that bug is fixed.

SYSOPS
04-08-2010, 07:13 AM
Will certainly post back to this thread once it has been fixed by development and tested here.

SYSOPS

SYSOPS
04-19-2010, 08:04 AM
This issue has been resolved in the current beta build available at:
http://www.shiprush.com/downloads/product_betas.shtml

SYSOPS