PDA

View Full Version : International first class parcel labels (cn22) on thermal printers



168and328
08-25-2011, 05:09 AM
I received an email this morning that we have to transition to stamps.com by Sept 6. Furthermore, I also see stamps.com does not support the printing of cn22 on thermal printers. We ship a lot of parcels using first class parcels. It will be a big problem for us if we cannot use thermal labels. Can you elaborate more on this?


- we need to print cn22 on thermal printers. How do we do this under stamps.com?
- is this migration mandatory? I really don't care about saving $10 if this is going to cause us grieve.

Marc Russo
08-25-2011, 05:12 AM
Right there with you !!!!
This is a huge problem for us as we do flats, parcels and letters

Paul Squires
08-25-2011, 05:30 AM
We do 100-150 CN22 customs forms each week - this is a huge loss. We have spent over $280,000 in postage with Endicia since 2007 - with minimal problems. I am at a loss why ShipRush cannot maintain both Endicia & Stamps.com or at least grandfather-in existing Endicia customers. I just spoke with a rep at Stamps.com this morning to discuss the CN22 issue - she didn't even know what a CN22 form was! I have always been a strong supporter of ShipRush but it looks like this ride is over.

christyh
08-25-2011, 05:46 AM
I agree completely. CN22 forms are an absolute must for my business. Not having that capability on ShipRush is a dealbreaker, and completely negates much of SR's appeal. Should I choose to stay with Shiprush, the $10 savings is really a price increase, because it will force me to have both this Stamps.com SR account, as well as an Endicia account on the side so I don't have to spend my days running to the post office for international packages. To force this "upgrade" that removes so much functionality just makes no sense.

AtopTheTable
08-25-2011, 07:42 AM
I echo this need - We LOVE the ability to print CN22 labels on our thermal printer!

mickie
08-25-2011, 08:32 AM
I received an email this morning that we have to transition to stamps.com by Sept 6. Furthermore, I also see stamps.com does not support the printing of cn22 on thermal printers. We ship a lot of parcels using first class parcels. It will be a big problem for us if we cannot use thermal labels. Can you elaborate more on this?


- we need to print cn22 on thermal printers. How do we do this under stamps.com?
- is this migration mandatory? I really don't care about saving $10 if this is going to cause us grieve.

Screw the $10. You can have it. I'll pay you.
Do you have *ANY IDEA* how much this is going to cost in manpower and headaches to transition this?
We do lots of International first class. Thanks Shiprush for not giving a **** what you loya customers think.

mickie
08-25-2011, 08:33 AM
I agree completely. CN22 forms are an absolute must for my business. Not having that capability on ShipRush is a dealbreaker, and completely negates much of SR's appeal. Should I choose to stay with Shiprush, the $10 savings is really a price increase, because it will force me to have both this Stamps.com SR account, as well as an Endicia account on the side so I don't have to spend my days running to the post office for international packages. To force this "upgrade" that removes so much functionality just makes no sense.

Agreed. Let's start looking for a replacement for Shiprush instead of a replacement for Endicia.

casino187
08-25-2011, 08:45 AM
So this is a sure thing? I can no longer print 1st class international labels on my thermal printer? I'm ****ed if this is the case, I don't have time to deal with this.

Am I in a Deloreon? because I swear I just went back in time.

SYSOPR
08-25-2011, 08:54 AM
I agree completely. CN22 forms are an absolute must for my business.

We agree!

We have a few angles that we hope will help you here:

First, if you use a paid version of ShipRush (e.g. you also have ShipRush UPS or FedEx, and pay once a year for your ShipRush license), your ShipRush Endicia will continue to operate as long as your ShipRush license is good for.

Second, if you are using ShipRush Endicia only, with one of the public serial numbers, and require a feature that is not yet in ShipRush for Stamps, we will extend your ShipRush Endicia serial number until ShipRush for Stamps offers full feature parity with ShipRush Endicia. Just send an email to info@shiprush.com with your company name and details of how you use ShipRush (with what ecommerce or accounting system, what feature you need that is not in ShipRush for Stamps)


We completely appreciate how important CN22s on thermal printers are. As soon as the Stamps infrastructure adds this functionality we will have this in ShipRush for Stamps.com.

Paul Squires
08-25-2011, 09:03 AM
Thank you for the favorable response. Much appreciated!!

casino187
08-25-2011, 09:03 AM
Since I have installed shiprush for stamps, my shiprush for endicia will not allow me to log in any more, it's asking for a serial and says "shiprush is not licensed for endicia". I have been using a public serial.

SYSOPR
08-25-2011, 09:16 AM
Since I have installed shiprush for stamps, my shiprush for endicia will not allow me to log in any more, it's asking for a serial and says "shiprush is not licensed for endicia". I have been using a public serial.

This will be rectified with an hour.

Please drop a note to info@shiprush.com requesting what you need.

Sorry for the bumpy transition!

christyh
08-25-2011, 10:10 AM
Thank for this response. I'm happy to see that there is a work-around in place. :)

cssi.us
08-27-2011, 10:41 AM
This will be rectified with an hour.

Please drop a note to info@shiprush.com requesting what you need.

Sorry for the bumpy transition!

So, if I understand this correctly, to use CN22, I have to:
- keep both a shiprush account AND and stamps account, because the stamps account is required?
- AND have to switch between shiprush stamps and shiprush endicia software to ship different USPS packages?

Or if the license is extended do I just use Shiprush endicia only?
Hope so, otherwise I have to pay $40 + $30 and do extra work!

cssi.us
08-27-2011, 10:48 AM
And actually I got no notice at all, another user told me.

When using the Public version of shiprush, are any notices sent out?

SYSOPR
08-27-2011, 09:36 PM
So, if I understand this correctly, to use CN22, I have to:
- keep both a shiprush account AND and stamps account, because the stamps account is required?

Not at all.

Just email into info@shiprush.com, and your SR Endicia license will be extended until we have CN22 thermal support on the ShipRush for Stamps.com side.

SYSOPR
08-27-2011, 09:37 PM
And actually I got no notice at all, another user told me.

When using the Public version of shiprush, are any notices sent out?

Yes, an email was sent to the registration emails we have on file.

Sorry we missed you! That was not intentional.

ipartsmonster
09-03-2011, 06:15 AM
as a workaround, we have to use a letter size sticky label, it would cost more certainly, about 4cents per label vs 1.5cents per thermal label, plus toner cost. we only have 10-20 cn22 per day so we can live with it for now. really appreciate if you can put stamps.com to implement this asap. good for them as well

SYSOPR
09-03-2011, 09:28 PM
as a workaround, we have to use a letter size sticky label, it would cost more certainly, about 4cents per label vs 1.5cents per thermal label, plus toner cost. we only have 10-20 cn22 per day so we can live with it for now. really appreciate if you can put stamps.com to implement this asap. good for them as well

We are sorry for the inconvenience. The team at Stamps is working hard to help us deliver this functionality to you soon!

We feel the pain and will get it nailed as soon as possible.

tonnylu_2000@hotmail.com
09-06-2011, 05:29 PM
Hello, can you send an extend Endicia serial number to my email..? I got only 6 days left, I will be in trouble with 1k international shipments after that... Thank you!

Michael

SYSOPR
09-06-2011, 08:12 PM
we only have 10-20 cn22 per day

CN22 for international will be available this week.

Watch this forum for the update.

bigh11
09-06-2011, 10:26 PM
We too have the same problem, we ship 25-40 CN22 international labels per day. As well as 50-60 First Class Mail 1oz Letters. We have been with ShipRush for close to a year and a half and are not thrilled to find out neither of these are currently supported by Stamps. I would appreciate an extend to the serial number.

SYSOPS
09-07-2011, 05:15 AM
Please email into support at zfirmllc dot com asking for an extended license.

Thank you,
SYSOPS

SYSOPR
09-07-2011, 10:01 AM
CN22 support for thermal is available now in ShipRush for Stamps.com:

http://forums.zfirm.com/entry.php?93-v9.5-Update-build-9.5.0.46323-is-released

ipartsmonster
09-07-2011, 05:51 PM
just got email saying cn22 issue is fixed in 9.5 release. will try it out

ipartsmonster
09-08-2011, 06:56 AM
we download v9.5 and tried, but the cn22 form on thermal has very large font and many of the info was cut off. is it something i can adjust on setting? didn't see it though

christyh
09-08-2011, 07:01 AM
On a similar note, I was trying (with no luck--many issues) to set up 9.5 for stamps last night, and when I went to set up my thermal printer for small international packages, the test print printed out a US label, rather than an international one. So there's really no way for me to see if the CN22s set up incorrectly, as stated above, without a) spending a few dollars on a first class international package, which I can't get a refund for, or b) spending $13.25 for a priority mail package, which likely will need to be refunded, as stated above. Looks like we've got a long ways to go before many of us can use the stamps side of SR.

SYSOPS
09-08-2011, 07:28 AM
thermal printer for small international packages, the test print printed out a US label, rather than an international one. So there's really no way for me to see if the CN22s set up incorrectly, as stated above, without a) spending a few dollars on a first class international package, which I can't get a refund for, or b) spending $13.25 for a priority mail package, which likely will need to be refunded, as stated above. Looks like we've got a long ways to go before many of us can use the stamps side of SR.
You can set your account for Stamps to test mode in Settings | Shipping Settings | Stamps Account: Print test labels. With that set, you can do test shipments without worrying about your account being charged.


we download v9.5 and tried, but the cn22 form on thermal has very large font and many of the info was cut off. is it something i can adjust on setting? didn't see it though
Could you scan the label in question or take a pic of the label and send it to support at zfirmllc dot com for review?

Thank you,
SYSOPS

168and328
09-08-2011, 07:50 AM
We have had a lot of problems in the past with international first class cn22 labels; even when printed using Endicia. The machines in the post office regularly rejects them even for the slightest things. We are lucky that as a valued customer, our local post office would manually process our first class parcels to make sure they don't get rejected. Nevertheless, it is very important that ShipRush and stamps.com do this right so that these cn22 labels are printed not just on thermal printers but that they will not be rejected by the machines in the post office.

SYSOPR
09-08-2011, 07:57 AM
We have had a lot of problems in the past with international first class cn22 labels; even when printed using Endicia. The machines in the post office regularly rejects them even for the slightest things. We are lucky that as a valued customer, our local post office would manually process our first class parcels to make sure they don't get rejected. Nevertheless, it is very important that ShipRush and stamps.com do this right so that these cn22 labels are printed not just on thermal printers but that they will not be rejected by the machines in the post office.

Thank you for the write up.

Here on the ShipRush team, we are VERY familiar with the issue you describe!

Hand processing should not be necessary. The post office machines should all be fully compatible with the ShipRush for Stamps labels.

Any issues of this kind, please contact our support team directly, as we may need to escalate it through the postal service.

ipartsmonster
09-08-2011, 08:14 AM
i will send it when i get a chance.
this v9.5 caused us headache, the thermal label for domestic is shifted right and costed the addess and barcode to be cutoff,
have to rollback to 9.0 and give a try

SYSOPR
09-08-2011, 08:26 AM
i will send it when i get a chance.
this v9.5 caused us headache, the thermal label for domestic is shifted right and costed the addess and barcode to be cutoff,
have to rollback to 9.0 and give a try

No need to roll back. Just go into Settings and set the printing margins.!


1193

ipartsmonster
09-08-2011, 08:47 AM
CN22 Image sent

ipartsmonster
09-08-2011, 08:50 AM
thanks for the help.setting margin works fine

SYSOPS
09-08-2011, 09:25 AM
Verify the margins are set to 10, 10, and 10 for the INTL Small Items.

Also, in windows, go into the Printing Preferences for that printer and make sure the paper size is set to 4x6. Any changes made there, restart ShipRush and test.

SYSOPS

ipartsmonster
09-08-2011, 09:59 AM
just tried the margin and it does not work. the paper size is always 4x6

SYSOPS
09-08-2011, 10:42 AM
What thermal printer is this, 2844 or a ZP, like a 450?

SYSOPS

ipartsmonster
09-08-2011, 11:21 AM
Lp2844-z

SYSOPS
09-08-2011, 11:51 AM
You can try the following:
Settings | Shipping Settings | Small INTL Items
Change the printer TYPE to a 2844 (without the Z)
Recycle the power on the printer
Do a test print

Does it print out? If so, that is the current workaround.

SYSOPS

ipartsmonster
09-08-2011, 12:02 PM
it does not even print anything when doing test printing

SYSOPS
09-08-2011, 12:56 PM
I feared that. The 2844-z cannot do EPL printing. Let me see how the case is going to resolve the printing of CN22.

Case 28718

SYSOPS

168and328
09-08-2011, 01:17 PM
This issue had been escalated to ShipRush. Someone had contacted me as well as my local post office. Some changes were made to the CN22 and the situation improved somewhat. Nevertheless, some parcels are still rejected. Luckily, my local post office will manually intervene everyday and make sure my shipments will go through. For others who do not have a relationship, the Post Office will reject some of the first class international parcels. This problem has been around for many months. It is independent of the migration to stamps.com. Nevertheless, if others are finding problems with printing of CN22, it is going to make this situation worse.

casino187
09-08-2011, 02:20 PM
I have GK420d.

My first print job was the margins being off. I changed my margins and now the label is cut off and really zoomed in (so it cuts it off). what to do? printer is set for 4x6. margins are 10 10. Can I change settings and reprint a label? or will it continue to print the original way regardless if I change settings? so therefore when i troubleshoot, I have to print/pay for a new label every time?

SYSOPS
09-08-2011, 02:38 PM
You can go into settings | shipping settings | Stamps Account and put a check in Print Test Labels so you won't be charged. Very simple to switch for testing.

You can try changing the settings and doing a reprint. Can also do new shipments as a test without being charged.

SYSOPS

casino187
09-08-2011, 03:12 PM
the closest I can get is with these settings.

I have a GK420d.
intl small items
printer type : Eltron/zebra 2844
printer name: ZDesigner GK420d

It is cutting off a little of the left side, but when I adjust the horiz offset, it doesn't seem to help it any.

SYSOPR
09-08-2011, 03:13 PM
the closest I can get is with these settings.

I have a GK420d.
intl small items
printer type : Eltron/zebra 2844
printer name: ZDesigner GK420d

It is cutting off a little of the left side, but when I adjust the horiz offset, it doesn't seem to help it any.

Use the vert offset... the label looks horiz, but to the printer that is a vert thing...

SYSOPR
09-08-2011, 03:15 PM
Lp2844-z

This will be resolved on Sunday the 10th. The ZPL option is currently for 300 dpi printers (which no one has). It will be fixed on the Stamps servers this weekend.

casino187
09-08-2011, 03:25 PM
i cant' get any offset to work properly, but why would I get a close to correct label by selecting the 2844 instead of the gk420? the gk420 setting is zoomed in and cut off a lot.

SYSOPR
09-08-2011, 03:30 PM
i cant' get any offset to work properly, but why would I get a close to correct label by selecting the 2844 instead of the gk420? the gk420 setting is zoomed in and cut off a lot.

Your GK printer speaks both epl and zpl languages.

The Stamps servers are having a problem at the moment with zpl. This will be fixed either later today or over the weekend (not sure yet).

So we set the printer to 2844 to make ShipRush speak epl to the printer.

The Stamps guys will have this all sorted shortly.

ipartsmonster
09-08-2011, 07:02 PM
delighted to know. thanks for following up!

ipartsmonster
09-16-2011, 07:11 AM
What is the ETA on cn22 on thermal printer?
thanks

SYSOPS
09-16-2011, 08:55 AM
Try it out now. The servers have been updated at Stamps.com

SYSOPS

ipartsmonster
09-16-2011, 09:37 AM
works now. Thank you!