PDA

View Full Version : How to disable address validation?



atreasurenest
09-15-2011, 08:38 AM
Stamps.com for Shiprush is saying the address is not valid for an order. Though, Google & USPS show it is a valid address. I can only choose basic/robust/strict for address validation. How can I disable it entirely so I can ship this order?

SYSOPS
09-15-2011, 08:56 AM
Download the new beta release of ShipRush:
http://www.shiprush.com/downloads/product_betas.shtml

SYSOPS

jasonITSpyder
09-15-2011, 04:02 PM
We are looking for this feature too. Is it going to make it into all future releases?

Also, where can I get a hold of release/update notes for ShipRush? It feels like there's been a lot of updates recently.

SYSOPR
09-15-2011, 05:21 PM
We are looking for this feature too. Is it going to make it into all future releases?

Yup!


Also, where can I get a hold of release/update notes for ShipRush? It feels like there's been a lot of updates recently.

Couple options!

This blog has been active in this regard:
http://forums.zfirm.com/blog.php?11893-Vladislaw-Poniedelnik

The official doc is here, but it can be 1-3 weeks behind the times:
http://www.zfirm.com/Product_Documentation/ShipRush_v9-0_Stamps/Content/What_s_New_Detailed_Fix_List.htm

willlangford
09-16-2011, 02:56 PM
Being able to disable the validation with the Beta version of ShipRush is okay, however not a great solution. Mistakes are made with addresses, after all our customers are human. Is there a way to scale back the validation or at least get a warning the address isn't valid but still be able to ship the order?

I've used both Endicia and Stamps.com over the years, I still think Stamps is failing in the address validation department.

SYSOPS
09-16-2011, 03:08 PM
Your point is excellent: Do the validation, but allow the user to override per shipment

(Is that a fair rephrase of what you are looking for?)

ShipRush Stamps today has the same functionality as ShipRush Endicia in this area:

- ShipRush can force it at shipment time every time (via settings)
- The user can click the Address link (or press F8, see http://www.zfirm.com/Product_Documentation/ShipRush_v9-0_Stamps/Content/Use_Global_Hot_Keys.htm#kanchor17 )

One, the other, or both can be used.

We are working on a new feature that lets you turn on the every shipment validation, and "force override" it shipment by shipment. Note that this is a new feature that has never been in any ShipRush version before.

Thank you,
SYSOPS

jasonITSpyder
09-20-2011, 11:48 AM
Experienced some error after installing ShipRush v9.5 (9.5.0.46585 - Build date: 2011/09/15) for Stamps.com

Version running prior to install: 9.5.0.46323

Environment: Windows XP SP3, Windows AD domain, computer rights: user (not administrator or power user)

Procedure: Uninstall (Windows ADD/REMOVE) 46323, install the 46585

Error message screen shot:

http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy89/jasonitspyder/SHIPRUSH-v9-585-1.jpg

http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy89/jasonitspyder/SHIPRUSH-v9-585-2.jpg


I believe it's a security right issue with the database.

Temporary solution: assign local Power User rights to the user.

However I want this fixed so the regular "user" can use ShipRush, without assigning power user rights, because I do not want to see my warehouse guys installing a bunch of software on the computer.

jasonITSpyder
09-21-2011, 09:08 AM
Any suggestions for the above issue, beside a fresh format of hard drive? Appreciate your help.

SYSOPS
09-21-2011, 09:18 AM
Are you logged in as an Admin user? I've lost the "thread" of what the issue is here, as we're talking about an error, and about user rights.

Is this during install, or just trying to launch and use ShipRush?

SYSOPS

jasonITSpyder
09-21-2011, 12:54 PM
Are you logged in as an Admin user? I've lost the "thread" of what the issue is here, as we're talking about an error, and about user rights.

Is this during install, or just trying to launch and use ShipRush?

SYSOPS

I should've made a separate thread about this issue. Anyways.

I logged in as regular user, not Admin. If logged in with Admin rights or Power user rights, I won't get this error.

This happened after *upgrade* to 46585 (from 46323). By *upgrade*, I meant I removed 46323 first (via Windows Add/Remove program), then installed 46585.

The removal and re-install was with Admin rights. However once I logged in with regular user rights, this error popped up.

The error happened after ShipRush is launched. I would get this error everytime I try to double click on the ShipRush system tray icon (the blue icon on the lower right, next to the Windows date/time)

SYSOPS
09-21-2011, 01:25 PM
OK, so the issue looks like a rights issue, to the database. Maybe this needs to be set on the folder for the database. If you share the database with Everyone Full Control, is the behavior better?

Alternately, if you have the service running for ShipRush, you can change the connection method to PC name instead of a shared folder location.

SYSOPS

jasonITSpyder
09-21-2011, 02:00 PM
I assume ShipRush uses file based database right? Where are those files located at?

I have tried to manually set the right issue to allow Everyone full control over the ShipRush folder in C:\Program Files\Z-Firm LLC etc, but still no luck.

SYSOPS
09-21-2011, 02:17 PM
Looking at the screenshot you provided earlier, it would be C:\Users\Public\Documents\Z-Firm LLC....

I'd set the full control to the Z-Firm LLC Folder and all sub folders.

SYSOPS